April 26, 2010

Iraq Burin – Blinded by Teargas

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:07 pm by Keren

Saturday morning several ISMers left Nablus for Iraq Burin’s weekly demonstration. Iraq Burin, a village of approximately 1,000, is probably the loveliest of all villages in Palestine – it sits solitary at the top of a mountain, like a fortress – imposing from the distance but extremely beautiful within. As I noted in my blog about injuring my knee, Iraq Burin has very steep roads and paths, and the climb through the olive orchards is also very rocky.  Iraq Burin is also the home of the two young shebab who were murdered by the Israeli army in March 

Iraq Burin

 Approximately 75 demonstrators, including locals and internationals, gathered in the village center and set out, led by a shabab on a magnificent steed, to march up the hill toward the fence that demarcates the edge of the illegal Bracha settlement, established on lands stolen from the village. 

 

Illegal Bracha settlement

 

We were met by twice as many soldiers as the week before.  

Jaysh (Soldiers)

 

Photos of soldiers, courtesy of Rocky

  Although they held off on the teargas for a bit, once it started it was a constant volley for almost one hour. We’re taught in the ISM training to take our cues from the Palestinians – if they run, you run – if they run, there is good reason. Tear gas canisters started coming down all around and in the rush to run from the gas, I fell hard, and flat on my face, as I was coming down off one of the stone terraces. Immediately I was grabbed on both sides by two of the local Palestinians and hoisted to my feet. They held on to me as we walked and I caught my breath. Then more teargas canisters came hurtling down and we were off and running again. This time the gas was so bad that I couldn’t see (the gas burns the eyes terribly) and of course you may have guessed – I stepped into a hole and fell flat on my face yet again. I struggled to my feet as quickly as I could so as not to be a burden to others who were also running from the gas and made it to a safe (read: relatively gasless) area. 

Tear Gas

 I’m black and blue and sore, but nothing worse for the wear. Once again, the kindness of the Palestinians must be noted – in these demonstrations, they really look out for all of us – they refer to us as their brothers and sisters, and often call us hajji (one who has made the Hajj pilgrimage)- for me it is the highest compliment that I could be paid by a Palestinian. 

I will note that my nose’s best friend has become the onion – for some reason holding an onion to one’s nose dilutes the smell and the effects of the tear gas. I’ve learned to tie it in my keffiyah right up against my nose. Nothing, though, cuts the blinding irritation of tear gas on the eyes. 

Mohammed, one of the young men who hoisted me to my feet after I fell

1 Comment »

  1. rita corriel said,

    Oh, i see your glamorous photo with Mohammed…..Now i know why you keep falling down, Ms. Batiyov!

    Please stop giving these young men so many opportunities to be so caring and chivalrous……in other words. Look before you run asunder in tear gas and stones , up and down mountainsides……Be careful, please.

    A very engaging post!


Leave a comment