April 4, 2010

So Good to Be Back in Palestine

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:55 pm by Keren

Tuesday, March 30 

Landed at Ben Gurion airport Tuesday afternoon fairly rested – in fact, it was the most comfortable and restful international flight that I’ve ever had. The weather was sunny and much warmer than DC – Hurrah!!!! Took a sherut (shared van) to East Jerusalem and got off at the Damascus Gate – across the street from the hostel that I always stay at while I am in Jerusalem. Shortly after arriving I discovered that the van driver had given me the wrong backpack – it was similar in color and weight but not mine – for a bit I really panicked because it had my computer and all my other electronic equipment inside. Was reassured that it would be tracked down but the office of the van was closed for a few hours so I set off to change money and explore a little. 

Things in East Jerusalem “looked” about the same even while I knew they weren’t – I just hadn’t yet gotten to Sheikh Jarrah or Silwan where the Israeli government is demolishing Palestinian homes and forcing families to live in the street. Wandered around the Old City and made a couple purchases in the event that my backpack didn’t show up that evening. When I returned to the hostel the manager began calling again and finally reached someone and the bag was located and in my hands within 30 minutes. Whew, what a relief. Read the rest of this entry »